‘TMC only alternative to BJP’: Mahua Moitra hits back at Rahul Gandhi over remark on Meghalaya polls

TMC MP Mahua Moitra slammed the Congress and said the Trinamool Congress is the only alternative to the BJP. This comes after Congress leader Rahul Gandhi alleged that the TMC is contesting elections in Meghalaya to help the BJP come to power.

India Today News Desk

New Delhi,UPDATED: Feb 24, 2023 12:16 IST

Mahua Moitra Rahul Gandhi

TMC MP Mahua Moitra slammed Congress leader Rahul Gandhi over his remark on the Meghalaya elections

By India Today News Desk: Trinamool Congress MP Mahua Moitra hit out at Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Thursday over his remark that the TMC was fighting the elections in Meghalaya to ensure that the BJP comes to power. Slamming the Congress, Mahua Moitra said the TMC is the only national alternative to the BJP.

Speaking at a public meeting in Meghalaya on Thursday in support of the TMC candidate Elgiva Gwyneth Rynjah, Moitra said, “If the Congress could have defeated the BJP, there was no need for us to be here. Because they have failed spectacularly, we needed to provide an alternative.”

ALSO READ | TMC contesting Meghalaya polls to help ‘class-bully’ BJP win: Rahul Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi had also alleged that the TMC did the same thing during the 2022 Goa Assembly election and their idea was to help the BJP.

Countering Rahul’s remark, Mahua Moitra said, “What are we going to do if the Congress is losing state after state? Are we going to just sit at home or are we going to fight?”

Mahua Moitra also urged women voters to get behind the party’s North Shillong candidate and said, “Let all the male votes be divided. If all the women vote for Elgiva, we will win.” She added that the party’s manifesto for the upcoming Assembly polls was written and published by Elgiva Gwyneth Rynjah herself.

The election for all 60 seats in the Meghalaya Assembly will be held on February 27. The BJP and the Congress party have candidates competing for all seats, the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) candidates are contesting in 57 constituencies, and the Trinamool Congress is contesting in 56 seats.

The counting of votes will be held on March 2.

ALSO READ | In numbers: What you need to know about Meghalaya and Nagaland assembly elections

Source link

What do you think?

Written by Mpitude

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Sorakkai Kuzhambu | Bottle Gourd Gravy For Rice, Roti | Sorakkai Kurma Kuzhambu

Solitaire: A game to stimulate the brain